Regional Response Team VII (RRT VII) is the federal component of the National Response System for the states of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska. RRT VII is made up of representatives of sixteen federal departments and agencies, plus each of the four states listed above. It is co-chaired by a representative from the Environmental Protection Agency, Region VII and a representative for the United States Coast Guard, Eighth District.

RRT VII is a planing, policy, and coordinating body which does not respond directly to the scene of an oil spill or hazardous substance release. It provides assistance as requested to the On-Scene Coordinator during an incident. For a thorough description of both the National Response System and the responsibilities of the Regional Response Team, please visit the National Response Teams’s website.

This website will be updated regularly. Our primary concern is to give timely, accurate information to all interested parties.

Upcoming MeetingsRICPMember AgenciesSub-area Planning Initiatives


CO-CHAIR: Mr. Michael Sams CO-CHAIR: Mr. Scott Hayes

U.S. Coast Guard U. S. Environmental Protection Agency

Eighth Coast Guard District Region 7

500 Poydras St., Rm 1330 11201 Renner Blvd

New Orleans, LA 70130-3319 Lenexa, KS 66219

504-671-2234 913-551-7670

24 Hour Number 504-589-6225 24 Hour Number 913-281-0991

Michael.K.Sams@uscg.mil hayes.scott@epa.gov


Todd Peterson Eric Nold

504-671-2232 (913) 281-0991

Todd.M.Peterson@uscg.mil Nold.Eric@epa.gov